Photographs

I love taking photographs…I really do. I love the fact that it’s free (after purchasing a camera that is) and you can just go out into the world and take images of things that inspire you, make you smile, the people you love, favourite places, seasons, the weather; the possibilities are endless. I also love to play about with images, create a mood, enhance, brighten, darken and sometimes I even leave them just as they are!

The photo a day challenge from Fat Mum Slim is such good exercise for being creative; some of the challenges get me pondering, perhaps even slightly stressed (really only very slightly) but it works your mind in so many ways and makes you see beauty where you maybe wouldn’t have previously. We all have so many memories in our heads and that’s amazing but looking through photographs sometimes reminds you of a great moment in your life; it may not have been anything major, maybe just how the sun shone through the trees in your favourite place or perhaps a cheeky smile from your child when they were small. It’s so good to look over them and remember things your memory has maybe forgotten.

My camera is not fantastic but I am comfortable with it. I would like a better one eventually but in the meantime I will continue to look through my lens and try to capture a little bit of magic.

Photo a day: days 5 to 10

movement

mine

street

January 2013 Days 5, 6, 7

something beginning with ‘t’

paper

1 o’clock

January days 8, 9, 10

This final image is a favourite of mine and was taken last weekend while on a walk in a lovely village called Wentworth.

Walk in Wentworth 4 January 2012

“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever… it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”
Aaron Siskind

I am signing off most online activity for the weekend. We are going away for my son’s 13th Birthday and the internet connection is not great where we will be.

I hope you are well and that you have a wonderful weekend!

Take care my friends…Jane xxx

9 thoughts on “Photographs

  1. Your photos are absolutely, ridiculously, beautiful. For some reason, I particularily like the one with the–is that a thermos? Anyway, I’m glad you know that you don’t need an expensive camera to make wonderful art. Great job! ❤

  2. Hi Eleanora! Thank you so much for leaving a comment and for your incredibly kind words!! Yes, it is a thermos (a gift from a friend) and it is so pretty and practical! Thanks again so much, your words really touched me and made me smile : )

  3. exactly, exactly. that’s how i feel too. :-)) i even used the quote of aaron siskind ones in a photobook of mine :-))
    love all your images, but mine street and something beginning with t are my favorite 🙂
    have a great weekend and we see each other next week :-))

    • Hello Esther!! Thank you so much you are really kind for stopping by : ) I will miss looking at your/everyone’s photos over the weekend but I can catch up on Monday! I am very much looking forward to our weekend away and will no doubt take some photos!! The quote is great isn’t it and so, so true!! You have a wonderful weekend too and I will see you next week. Take care my friend xx

Leave a Reply

