Long weekend

By this title I don’t mean the kind of long weekend that takes you to the seaside or a trip to a new city, oh no dear friends, I mean the kind of weekend that just never seems to end!

Recently my job changed (you may or may not remember me telling you) and I am now in Events & Marketing, whereas before it was purely Marketing with a pinch of Events every now and then. Part of my new role involves being a lot more involved in the organisation of events in my home town and this weekend was our annual show, which takes place over two days at the beginning of September.

The show is always well attended and is set in ‘my park’ which is one of my favourite places in the world (and where I would like some of my ashes spreading…sorry if that’s morbid…but I do) and has all sorts of activities throughout the weekend. There’s a fair, stalls of all kinds, a Diversity Festival, Horticultural Show, Vintage Vehicle Rally, Food Court, Fresh Produce & Craft Marquee, Jazz & Folk Marquee and loads more plus it’s free to get in…yes FREE I tell you!

The other girls in the Events Team work tirelessly the week before and over the weekend itself to ensure it runs smoothly and everyone has a great time. I helped out a great deal more than in past years and although it was very tiring I enjoyed every minute of it and even got to ride around on a golf buggy which was just fantastic! I am going to put a golf buggy on my wish list : )

Anyway, that was my weekend really, sun, fun, crowds of happy show goers and a bit of hard graft!

I hope the days since my last post have been good ones, enjoy the rest of this week and I will leave you with a few images I took last weekend…

I made the ugliest plant in our garden look almost pretty!

And finally, in my opinion, the prettiest flower in our garden right now.

Take care…Jane xxx

8 thoughts on “Long weekend

  1. Sounds excellent. We love things like that. I had a weekend away with Mr P and no small boys amazingly! We were at a wedding. It was lovely but we did miss them lots too. I like your ugly plant… Looks like its from outer space!

    • So glad you had a good weekend at the wedding, I always miss J but we all need a break sometimes don’t we? Sure you and your boys would have love the show!! The ugly plant is so ugly I actually feel quite attached to it, plus it was given to us by a very good friend so I want to keep it. Have a great rest of the week. J xx

  2. Looks like your hard work paid off ! I bet it was a superb weekend & event for everyone ! Weather’s been slightly changing here, and mornings are way chillier, which I SO love !
    Aaah, love in the mist … I love them too ! In my inlaws’ garden, they’ve gone to seed a long time ago.
    xoxo

    • It was a great weekend Sonia, really tiring but so rewarding! Glad the chillier weather is making you happy, I must admit I am not good in high temps!! Love in mist is almost gone from our garden now but I am going to plant loads next year! Enjoy the rest of your week. Jane xxxx

  3. It sounds like a wonderful weekend in your little town! My parents have a golf cart and it has always been a treat for all the grandchildren to ride around the woods in it! I love that you call it a golf buggy:)
    xo Elizabeth

  4. you take some really beautiful photographs
    Funny when I was at the charity golf tournament for the organization I sit on the board for I was the only one not riding around in a golf buggy and I got so much attention:)

    • Thank you for your kind comment Margie! You take some amazing photographs yourself. I have visited your blog many times after discovering it through the beautiful Sonia and think it is wonderful!

      Do you know I could have just driven round the park in that buggy until the sun went down and would have been so happy!

      Thanks for visiting my little blog xx

Leave a Reply

