Perspective

Today I heard some bad news about someone I know. I don’t know this lady well, we just used to chat sometimes in the playground or outside school after dropping off our kids. I know she was ill with cancer but the last time I saw her she was fighting it and doing okay.

I don’t see her very much anymore as our children are now at comprehensive school so I haven’t been able to ask how she is doing.

Today I had a text from a friend who volunteers at our local hospice and this poor lady is in there and gravely ill. I was so utterly saddened to hear this news. She has three young children for goodness sake and is only 41, why does this have to happen?

I tell you one thing though it put everything into perspective for me right there and then! I have been moaning all week about having to apply for my own job at work, worrying about it and stressing about the application but lets face it this is small fry compared to what could happen.

Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.
Buddha

I have had cancer myself (cervical) quite a few years ago now and I know how it feels to be told those words you do not want to hear. Happily I was fine, a hysterectomy sorted me out.

The reason I feel so sad about this lady is because we did chat a bit about having cancer and how it felt and now look, she is in the hospice and I am fine. I don’t know how I got so lucky you know and why other people aren’t so fortunate.

Being realistic I know I will still stress and moan (as we all do) about silly things but sometimes it does you good to step back and get some perspective on life.

On a brighter note I hope your week is going well. Do you have any plans to celebrate the Jubilee? Our town is gearing up for a huge celebration and I cannot wait!

Be well.

Jane xx

9 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. Very sad news. I’ve had a couple of hospital check ups lately but thankfully all is well. You are right it does put things in perspective. Perhaps your perspective will help you to enjoy the celebrations even more? We are off to visit Gramdma Patch and will be celebrating there. Hope the weather holds out.

    • Oh I am sorry to hear you have had to have some check ups but so glad to hear that all is well for you, thank goodness : ) I hope you have a wonderful time with Grandma Patch. I am working on the event in our town centre and cannot wait to everyone enjoying themselves. Soooo hope it’s dry. Have a great time xx

  2. Oh, Jane, that is such a sad news indeed. Perspective is what we often loose as time goes by, and it is a good thing to be reminded about our own luck.
    I didn’t know you had had a cancer. I am so happy you managed to get rid of it & keep on living.
    Keeping this lady in my thoughts.
    Be well, my friend. oxoxo

    • It sure is Sonia, her poor children, my heart goes out to them. Yup I found out I had cancer when I was in my early 30’s and J was only a toddler, it was a dreadful time. But ten years on and I am still here and still feel very fortunate. It did mean I couldn’t have anymore children which I would have loved but I feel so lucky to have my precious J. Life does throw stuff at us as well you know my friend but sometimes we come out stronger don’t we. Take care xx

  3. That is such sad news to hear Jane. Life is just so unfair sometimes – it always seems that rotten things happen to good people.

    Don’t feel bad about getting stressed about ‘trivial’ things though (having to re-apply for your job isn’t trivial at all) – we all complain because it’s just human nature to do so I guess.

    As for the Weekend, I feel like hibernating. I’m not the biggest fan of the Royal family, so I’ll probably stay at home to avoid all the noise & the bunting! That said, I have reluctantly agreed to bake some ‘Jubilee’ buns for the School party on Friday so I am taking part (just a bit).

    Hope you manage to enjoy your weekend

    Angela x

    • It really is so sad Angela, I can’t imagine how they will all cope. I am sure all will be well with my job, as the saying goes ‘It’ll all come out in the wash’.

      I am not a massive Royalist but I think the old girl has worked hard all her life and I certainly would not like her job for any amount of luxury and money. I have worked on the event in our town for months now, marketing it etc and am working on the day as a steward so I can’t wait to see the result of our team’s hard work. I am impressed that you are making buns and am sure you will wave a flag at some point!!

      Take care J xx

  4. It’s so hard to understand why things like this happen. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. Even though you are not very close, I’m sure your heart is breaking for her and her family. Hospice caregivers are truly angels and I’m sure they will be able to comfort her family at this time. It’s just so sad.
    We are having a good week. Just wrapping up the last of school.
    Thinking about you,
    Elizabeth

    • It just made me so sad as last time I saw her she was doing well and was being so brave and positive.

      Glad your week is a good one, are your children on a school holiday next week? J is, it will be so nice to have a few days off.

      Take care friend xx

Leave a Reply

