Our little expedition…

…took us to some lovely places today.

A friend at work told me this week about a disused quarry in Matlock where you can find lots of fossils, and as we are a little partial to the odd fossil or two in our house we set of on a little expedition. We (well mainly me) were very excited!

Now Matlock is a place we have visited many times, it’s a lovely little town in the middle of Derbyshire and I would encourage you to take a visit if you get the chance.

We found the entrance to the quarry very easily but spotted a sign for this place and as we all fancied a drink drove up, and boy are we glad we did, it was really lovely. I was served by an incredibly friendly lady and their ice-cream is to die for!! There were also very friendly lambs.

We then headed off to the quarry, which on arrival felt quite desolate but a little bit exciting too. My son thought we were in a movie and we were going to be taken away by aliens at any moment…FAB!!

Anyway, these are what we found there, a bit of flora and some great fossils!!

I hope you have enjoyed snippets of our Saturday and that your’s has been a really good one too. I’d love to know what you got up to?

Happy wishes,

Jane xxx

6 thoughts on “Our little expedition…

  1. I’ve been to Matlock once in the past but I don’t remember having lovely ice-cream there (more likely to have been a bag of chips in the rain!). It certainly seems worth a visit & I’m sure my kids would love hunting for fossils 🙂

    Thanks for sharing & enjoy the rest of the weekend x

    • I suppose it does all depend on the weather, Derbyshire is bleak in the rain isn’t it. You should give Matlock another go though. You have to be careful at the quarry but it’s fine. Really enjoyed it and that ice-cream was divine!! Hope you have enjoyed a great weekend!! J xx

  2. All of your pictures make me smile! Those lambs are so sweet and the fossils are amazing! How funny that your son thought you were in a scene from an alien movie! I love it!:) Thank you for sharing your trip with us!
    xoxo Elizabeth

    • I am so glad I made you smile!! The fossils are pretty cool aren’t they! I think J has watched too much Doctor Who, not Daleks thank goodness!! Enjoy the rest of your long weekend Elizabeth xxx

Leave a Reply

