Things I love

I don’t consider myself a particularly materialistic person, I don’t want every new gadget or fashion but the things I have I really love and they mean something to me. They are a treasure, a memory, a reminder, from a friend and somehow that makes me feel safe. Sometimes I think I would like the kind of home that has a place for everything and everything in its place but realistically that is never going to happen. I have an artistic mind, a sentimental heart and I love my things, in fact I love my house, it is my haven, my families secure nest, where we laugh, cry, shout, dance and sing!

Here they are then, the things I love and why.

picture of husband and son

I absolutely love this picture, obviously because the two people in it are everything to me but also because I just love images of people not looking at the camera, it’s almost like I wasn’t there, it’s just the two of them on the beach.

a gift from my mum

My mum surprised me with these one day. She had seen them and thought how much I would like them and boy was she right, I love them and think of my mum every time I look at them.

sew wonderful!

This is a piece of sewing my son did when he was 4 or 5 years old and I absolutely adore it. I framed it and it takes pride of place in my lounge. I just think of his little hands sewing this and feel really proud.

picasso print

This was given to me by a very special friend who I adore. It hung in her old house for years and when she moved she gave it to me, I nearly cried. It reminds me of her and her old house and all the fantastic times we’ve had.

friends and buttons

This encapsulated two of my loves, friends and buttons, two very different things I know, but they both make me so happy : )

cheap but very cheerful

This is my collection of cheap but very cheerful dress rings. I absolutely love them all, they make me feel so happy when I wear them!!

something I cannot live without - music

I simply could not imagine a world without music. It holds so many memories over the years. To hear a song and remember something whether it be happy, sad or exciting, it doesn’t matter. My world without music would be a sad world.

craft

Ahhh paper, buttons, things to create with, don’t you just love ’em. I honestly don’t think I can imagine not being able to make things, it’s sort of, a compulsion and I never want to lose it!

Well that’s it, I hope you enjoyed the things I love. Doing this post has made me realise how much I have to be truly grateful for. Why not  leave me a message and share the things you love, I’d really like to hear about them or see them.

Jane xx

3 thoughts on “Things I love

  1. Hi Janie, so nice to see the pic from Emilia’s house. Made me think of all the times we shared birthday and Christmas dinners there. I can almost taste the garlic!! xxx

Leave a Reply

