Is art a luxury?

Is it a luxury…hmmm? Great question from Scoutie Girl! Personally I don’t think it has to be but lets face it some art is definitely a luxury. I mean I would love a Van Gogh but I am never going to be able to afford one, it would be simply enjoyable (very) but most definitely not essential for my being.

I am a believer that like beauty, art is in the eye of the beholder. To me blossom against the bluest sky is art, my son’s creations are without doubt art to me. All art does not have to be classed as a luxury, art is all around us anyway. Visit your local art gallery, museum, craft shop, you may not always have the ready cash to buy stuff but there is nothing stopping you getting an art fix!

There are so many things in life that are not a necessity but heck our lives would be so much less without them: music,  theatre, museums, art galleries, fresh flowers, lovely jewellery, the list is endless.

Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.

Pablo Picasso

So true Pablo, so true!

blossom against the bluest sky

still life vase by my son




One thought on “Is art a luxury?

Leave a Reply

