It’s hard being 10!

Just had a chat with my boy before bed and it seems that being ten is really complicated. There appears to be a lot of negotiating with whiny friends who want their own way and kids just generally being, well, kids. I didn’t have the heart to say negotiating gets more intense the older you get! Bless his heart. I suppose growing up and finding your way in life is hard work – for goodness sake I am still finding my way in life and I am, well let’s say no longer in my thirties but not yet in my fifties. It’s hard to have the courage to be yourself but the only way to be truly happy.

Growing up is never easy. You hold on to things that were. You wonder what’s to come. But that night, I think we knew it was time to let go of what had been, and look ahead to what would be. Other days. New days. Days to come. The thing is, we didn’t have to hate each other for getting older. We just had to forgive ourselves… for growing up.
The Wonder Years

Leave a Reply

